The Public Infrastructure Department

Section 67 of the Local Government Act 2011 provides for the local authority to have various departments amongst others the Public Infrastructure Department. It is supervised by the Ag.Chief Executive.

The Public Infrastructure Department is at present headed by the Head, Public Insfractructure Department.

The structure of the department comprises of the following:

1. Head, Public Infrastructure Department ( Civil Engineer)
2. Chief Inspector of works
3. Ag.Senior works Inspector
4. Clerical Officer
5. Foreman
6. Gangman
7. Skilled and Unskilled workers
8. Drivers and Operators.


The responsibilities of the Public Infrastructure Department are inter-alia Section 50(2) of the Local Government Act 2011
1. The construction,care, maintainance and improvement of all non-classified road (rural roads) within its juridiction.
2. The lighting of Highways,classified and non classified roads.
3. Removal of any obstruction on road reserves( rural roads)
4. Proper management and regular maintainance of all assets handed over to the council by the Ministry or Governmental Department (NDU).
5. Maintainance of all assets belonging to the Dictrict Council of Pamplemousses namely:
• Council buildings
• Village halls
• Public markets
• Traffic centres
• Children playgrounds
• Social and multi-purpose halls
6. Management and maintenance of the fleet of council vehicles
7. Provision, maintenance and repairs of street and village name plates
8. Processing of application for Building and Land Use Permit
9. Supervision of all contracts pertaining to projects carried out by contractors for the Pamplemousses district ( Contracts awarded by the Council under various grants)
10. Do close monitor of its budget and keeping records of same
11. Management of its personnel and vehicles
12. Maintenance and upkeep of all children playground.

Works executed

The works that are being carried out are as follows:
1. Road maintenance- patching, cleaning, road markings.
2. Road declaration- process and declaration
3. New road construction
4. Road resurfacing
5. Demolition of road reserve obstruction
6. Street lighting maintenance
7. Fixing of street lanterns in morcellement and villages
8. Council’s buildings maintenance and construction
9. maintenance and repair of Council’s vehicles
10. Wayleaves
11. Morcellement permits clearance
12. Building and Land Use Permit recommendation
13. Sports and children playground construction and maintenance

The Public Infrastructure Department is one of the Vital Department of the Council and is subdivided into 4 units.

o Road Unit
o Public Infrastructure Unit
o The Mechanical Unit
o The Street Lighting Unit


To ensure that the roads (rural roads) within its jurisdiction are in good conditions, regular maintenance is done by this team.

A team which consists of one foreman, one gangman and some road members.

Complaints come either from members of public, councillors, through ministries or after site inspections, list of damaged roads are drawn and attended.

New roads are also constructed after necessary procedures are followed to declare such roads public.
Contracts are also allocated to contractor through Procurement Procedures for construction of new roads under the supervision of the staff of the Public Infrastructure Department.

All these are done with a view to provide comfort to road users, and its budget may turn around Rs 10 m – Rs 15 m rupees yearly.


A team of skilled and non skilled workers are called upon to carry out various inhouse and on different sites of works from masonry to plumbing works – carpentry, welding and many others.
 These works involve the repair/ maintenance of Traffic Centres, Public toilets, Bus shelters, District Council buildings, Crematoriums, Cremation grounds, Market buildings, Cemeteries, Social halls (Multipurpose halls)

 It is also responsible for the maintenance of Drains – Absorption Drains, Pavements, Drain Network.

 The maintenance of traffic signs as well as the road markings. Traffic signs and Road markings are initially done by the Traffic Road Safety Unit and eventually, maintained by council.

 Road markings and Stop lines along rural roads are done to be demarcated between a major and minor road to avoid road accidents. These are equally done by the TMRSU and eventually taken care by the Local Authority.

 Yellow lines are marked by the TMRSU and yellow box & lines on Road Humps are redrawn by the Local Authority after being in the first instance done by the TMRSU.

 Regular checks are done by the Council to ensure that they are not completely faded out. Once the sign of fade is seen, they are drawn again.


The Mechanical Unit is responsible for the repair/ maintenance and the management of the fleet of Council Vehicles.

The works are done by a mechanical and supervised by the officers. It has its workshop at Fond Du Sac, behind the Village Hall, and the nature of works involved is simple mechanical repairs, welding and some electrical works.


This Unit is composed of 4 Electricians and is equipped with two lighting Lorries. They work under the supervision of the staff of the department.

Their responsibilities are as follows:
• Repair and maintenance of street lighting along Highways classified and non classified roads (Rural Roads).
• Installation of new lanterns within a newly built morcellement.
• Repair/ maintenance of Electrical works in Council’s buildings – Public Markets, Cemetries, Children Playground, Village Hall, Football Grounds, Volleyball Pitch, Administrative Block.
• They attend to complaints/ requests from public, councilors and ministries.

Comments are closed.