National Symbols History

Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam National Hospital

REDrepresents the struggle for freedom and independence
BLUErepresents the Indian Ocean in the middle of which Mauritius is situated
YELLOWrepresents the new light of independence shining over the island
GREENrepresents the agriculture of Mauritius and its colour throughout the twelve months of the year

The flag is in the proportion of 6 to 4 and consists of four equal horizontal stripes Red, Blue, Yellow and Green.

The British Standard colours and numbers for the colours are as follows:-



As stipulated in Mauritius Laws 1990 Vol.2

The armorial ensigns and supporters of Mauritius are –
Described as –
(a) for arms-

(i) quarterly azure and or, in the first quarter a lymphad of the last 

(ii) in the second , 3 palm trees eradicated vert,

(iii) in the third, a key in pale the wards downwards gules, and 

(iv) in the issuant, from the base a pile, and ain chief a mullet argent and

 (b) for the supporters-
(i) on the dexter side, a dodo per bend sinister embattled gules and argent, and
(ii) on the sinister side, a sambur deer per head embattled argent and gules, each supporting a sugar cane erect proper,

(c) with the motto “Stella Clavisque Maris Indici”

Colour Code
AzurRoyal Blue (Pantone Reflex Blue)
OrGold (Metallic Gold)
VertEmerald Green (Pantone Green)
GulesWarm Red (Pantone 2X)
ArgentSilver (Metallic Silver)


Trochetia Boutoniana (Boucle d’Oreille) was declared the National Flower on the 12th March 1992, when Mauritius achieved the status of Republic. Named after the famous French botanist, Louis Bouton, it is endemic to Mauritius and is found in only one locality in the wild. It is a magnificent shrub reaching about 2-3 metres in height, with reddish-orange flowers. Adapted to dry condition, it commonly flowers from June to October.

Scroll to Top